[SOLVED] Help installing Avidemux on Vector Linux 7.0 please.

Started by Fleabag, January 01, 2012, 10:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fleabag

I'm new at trying to use Vector Linux 7.0, and I was wondering if anyone could help me in trying to install Avidemux on it. Here is the result of my attempt so far -

fleabag:$ slapt-get --install avidemux_2.5.6.tar.gz
/home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages: Permission denied
Please update permissions on /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages or run with appropriate privileges

Thanks in advance.

Jan Gruuthuse

I'm not familiar with your flavor of Linux? Did you unpack avidemux_2.5.6.tar.gz in /home/ has a lot of folders in it. then you need to compile with instructions similar to this and fitting your linux.
http://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=build:install_2.5

Vector Linux is missing the sudo?
Quoteother Linux distros, unlike Ubuntu, do not often use sudo. Instead in a terminal just type "su", then the root password and you become root and can then do almost anything. Be careful! Do not run as root unless necessary...
only use this only where it says sudo. Otherwise some files cannot be accessed by the user and only by root.

if unpacked, go in to the Folder and for:
bootStrap.sh Mark in Properties: Permissions: Execute: [v]  Allow executing file as program.

Fleabag

Quote from: Jan Gruuthuse on January 02, 2012, 07:07:11 AM
if unpacked, go in to the Folder and for:
bootStrap.sh Mark in Properties: Permissions: Execute: [v]  Allow executing file as program.
Please try to explain (in layman's terms, if possible).

Jan Gruuthuse