Can i manually set data rate and bitrate for saving avi file?

Started by 8009, September 11, 2013, 10:45:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ok, so i have very little knowledge of video editing.

All i want to do is simply cut portions of an avi video, join them together and save the outcome. Just the same video and audio, just keeping a fraction of the original video. Obviously i would expect the video to be of smaller size than the original.

The original video does not tell me in Properties what is the data rate and the bitrate, i think it has to do with the crappy camera. So, i can cut and join the portions i want, but when i save the output, it is always about double the size of the original video (even if it about 1/10 of the original video's duration), and data rate and bitrate of the saved video is about 60.000+ every time.

Are these numbers normal? Are they the original data rates and bitrates of the video? How can i make the size of the output file be smaller? Thanks.

mean

shouldnt happen if both audio & video are set to copy and using avi container

Quote from: mean on September 11, 2013, 11:43:54 AM
shouldnt happen if both audio & video are set to copy and using avi container

The big size shouldn't happen, or the mentioned data rate and bitrate?

When am i using avi container? Which option is it?

For example, i just open the avi file, it is 220mb. I just leave everything at default and i save it as it is. The result is 520mb and it seems the bitrate is "locked" at 64000kbps and data rate is 63872kbps...

I ve tried both 32bit and 64bit of 2.6.1 on a Win7 64bit machine, same results.

mean

please try with 2.6.5
and make sure audio/video are set to copy
and output format is set to avi
(these are normally default)

Quote from: mean on September 11, 2013, 01:06:16 PM
please try with 2.6.5
and make sure audio/video are set to copy
and output format is set to avi
(these are normally default)

Yes, default. "Copy", "Copy", "Avi Muxer"