Author Topic: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V  (Read 2735 times)

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« on: September 14, 2016, 10:49:49 AM »
Update: with 2.6.13  (160908_897a70c5954) a long time bug is back:
I can't use hotkey CMD-V to paste a file name at "Select file to save"

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2016, 11:50:57 AM »
sorry, something wrong with my question?

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10950
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2016, 12:01:01 PM »
Not looked at yet

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2016, 12:07:04 PM »
PASTE =  CTRL-V in Windows   =   CMD-V in macOS (OS X)
I can use "Paste" from the menu, but not hotkey  CMD-V.
 

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5667
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2016, 04:01:22 PM »
and what does it say for the short cut (in gray next to paste, linux it says Ctrl+V))

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2016, 08:43:26 PM »
There are no shortcuts available:


Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5667
appmenu-qt5 and shortcuts
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2016, 06:43:32 AM »
Possible to do with QT5?
On linux: QT5 shortcut not showing
The current solution was to check what appmenu-qt is installed and remove appmenu-qt5.

Dev(s) can you check up on this: have shortcuts working with appmenu-qt5?

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2016, 09:33:41 AM »
Thanks, too difficult for me, I'll wait for a fix.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2016, 01:28:39 PM »
This sounds an awful lot like Qt bug 17291.

riji, does this issue persist with Avidemux 2.6.14? Avidemux 2.6.14 release for Mac was built with quite recent Qt 5.6.1 (I don't know which version was used when compiling 2.6.13). Do you use English for your environment on Mac, including keyboard layout? Some comments in the bug report suggest the issue to be restricted to non-en locales.

This bug is probably a pure Qt bug, unlike the Ubuntu-only issue with appmenu-qt5 which affected keyboard shortcuts within the application, not related to native modal dialogs like the file picker or to context menus for text input fields.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 01:34:40 PM by eumagga0x2a »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2016, 01:53:49 PM »
riji, does this issue persist with Avidemux 2.6.14? Avidemux 2.6.14 release for Mac was built with quite recent Qt 5.6.1 (I don't know which version was used when compiling 2.6.13).

Please scratch that. Found the .dmg for 2.6.13 on SourceForge and looked into it: it uses the same Qt 5.6.1. So don't expect changes with respect to this particular issue.

Nevertheless, I strongly recommend to use 2.6.14 instead of earlier releases.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2016, 02:32:15 PM »
This bug is probably a pure Qt bug, unlike the Ubuntu-only issue with appmenu-qt5 which affected keyboard shortcuts within the application, not related to native modal dialogs like the file picker or to context menus for text input fields.

Actually, this seems to be more complicated and Jan was very much on it asking for shortcuts shown in the Edit menu, because commenters in the bug report mention that on Mac an application has to provide standard menu items with standard shortcuts to make them work in the native QFileDialog with fixed Qt version! Unfortunately, riji misunderstood the request and attached a wrong screenshot.

As far as I understand, Avidemux uses a custom menu, and I have no idea which implications this may have in respect to QFileDialog.

riji, would you attach a screenshot of the Edit menu in Avidemux on Mac, please?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 02:35:10 PM by eumagga0x2a »

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2016, 03:27:19 PM »
I use version 2.6.13  (160821_4478db52b32).
The bug being not able to use shortcuts (CMD-V) with "Save file as" has been there for a very long time, but it was solved maybe some months ago and now it's back.
Attached is a screen capture of the Edit menu (OK).
It's when I want to save a file that the shortcuts disappear (see previous image).
I have update to version 2.6.14: problem persists.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2016, 03:57:37 PM »
The bug being not able to use shortcuts (CMD-V) with "Save file as" has been there for a very long time, but it was solved maybe some months ago and now it's back.

Is it feasible for you to identify the last Avidemux version where the keyboard shortcuts in the text input field of the file picker worked, please? While http://avidemux.org/nightly/osx_qt5/ hosts just a few most recent nightly builds, there is an archive of previous releases on SourceForge https://sourceforge.net/projects/avidemux/files/avidemux/. However, older releases may be incompatible with the current Mac OS X version.

Quote
Attached is a screen capture of the Edit menu (OK).

Thanks, all shortcuts are present, though I don't know if it matters that the menu in Avidemux is custom built.

Quote
It's when I want to save a file that the shortcuts disappear (see previous image).

I've got this, the thing is called file picker and is provided by the QFileDialog class.

Quote
I have update to version 2.6.14: problem persists.

As expected. Thanks.

riji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2016, 04:29:15 PM »
This version was OK, although I didn't have shortcuts in the menu available either, but CMD-V was working

Avidemux2.6_r2016_04_01_68a8f4989e6.dmg

« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 04:32:28 PM by riji »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: 2.6.13 (160908_897a70c5954): bug: no hotkey CMD-V
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2016, 04:40:59 PM »
Thanks, do you know by chance if it was a Qt5 or a Qt4 build? One can find this info among others in Avidemux2.6.app/Contents/Frameworks/QtCore.framework/Versions/ (I don't know how to accomplish this on Mac, on Linux you just extract the .dmg with 7z and descend into the "Avidemux2" folder). If there is a "4" folder, it is Qt4, if "5" it is Qt5.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 04:42:32 PM by eumagga0x2a »