Author Topic: Keyframe error  (Read 385 times)

doniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Keyframe error
« on: October 09, 2017, 08:55:28 PM »
I'm editing a video in steps. I chopped the first 54 seconds of the original video, creating Video 2.

I then opened Video 2. Avidemux (2.6) did NOT create an index, which it did for the original video. And when I clicked on the button to advance to the next keyframe, I got an error message: Cannot go to next keyframe. I received no such error message when editing the original video.


eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 09:24:04 PM »
1. Please try the latest nightly, 2.6. is EOL (in other words: dead).

2. Please provide some info about the source video (video codec, framerate, container), the selected codec (copy?) and the muxer used to create Video 2.

3. If the problem exists with the latest nightly, please reproduce it and compress and attach Avidemux log (admlog.txt on Windows).

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10950
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 04:07:28 AM »
dont put h264 in avi file format
use mkv or mp4

doniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2017, 08:33:17 PM »
I've been, and continue to be, sick and am unable to deal with this in the meantime. However, I didn't want the two of you to think that I was ungrateful. Once I'm up to it, I'll post a response.

Thank you!

doniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2017, 12:10:07 AM »
In 2.6, it was automatically saved as .mp4 and in 2.7, it was automatically saved as .mkv. Either way, we're fine.

2.7 (Nov. 5th) did appear to eliminate the keyframe error, but it also appears to be buggy. Once again, I chopped off the beginning to create video 2. However, when I opened video 2, the last 1,8 seconds of the portion I'd cut out were there. I created video 3 after chopping off those 1.8 seconds, but video 3 is identical to video 2. Those 1.8 seconds refuse to go away!
« Last Edit: November 09, 2017, 12:12:00 AM by doniel »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2017, 05:01:20 PM »
I chopped off the beginning to create video 2. However, when I opened video 2, the last 1,8 seconds of the portion I'd cut out were there. I created video 3 after chopping off those 1.8 seconds, but video 3 is identical to video 2. Those 1.8 seconds refuse to go away!

Did you place the cuts strictly on keyframes? If not, you can't use the copy mode (the warning about cuts being not on intra should be really an error).

doniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2017, 02:30:12 PM »
I don't recall. I can redo it, but I'm not sure whether I need to. I'm not aware of being in copy mode. I began in edit mode and then saved.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5671
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2017, 03:59:21 PM »
Copy Mode = both Video and Audio Outputs are left with Copy selected. (see marked red)
There is no edit mode, you are always in edit.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2017, 04:28:55 PM by Jan Gruuthuse »

doniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyframe error
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2017, 07:38:09 PM »
Thanks for the explanation. I'll redo it and pay attention to whether I'm cutting on a keyframe or not.