Author Topic: Crash when you try to open video files with variable bitrate audio/video stream.  (Read 429 times)

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
OS Win7 SP1 x64

Version 2.6.x - 2.7.x have crash (exception 0x40000015, then have AV and OS is terminate task) when you try to open MPEG2, MPEG4, MKV files with variable  bitrate for audio / video streames. Externally, the picture looks the same - we try to open such a file, index indexing begins, crash, sending a crash-report, restart.

Similar files for the period from the beginning of the year I came across repeatedly - in the OS logs the record about the crash with this reason from January 24, 2017 to October 14, 2017 occurs 21 times.

True, and MKVToolNix on them hangs, but it does not fall, but displays hundreds of errors in the logs.

P.S.

Such files are now in vogue - the size of the stream and the time of making "creations" are falling heavily, and the "quality" of the image of their creators is not interested in - "Do not bar, look, but here your logo on the half-screen will stick! More, more, more!". ;D
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 03:13:48 PM by VictorVG »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Please reproduce the crash, compress and attach admlog.txt from %localappdata%\avidemux\ to your reply or better provide a sample.

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Ok! I reproduce the crash. Log's attaches in to Logs.zip, screenshot's (I used my personal build Process Hacker v3.0.5547.1020 x64 (https://yadi.sk/d/193Gnglm4Ia5D) running as default task manager in to elevation mode this kernel mode driver enabled):











eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Thank you for the log, the crash is related to video filter seeking. Could you please provide a (preferably short) sample video? I can't reproduce the crash with the filter collection you used and my own samples.

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Also question:

I have hardware:

CPU:           Intel Core i7-2600 (Sandy Bridge-DT, D2)
               3400 MHz (34.00x100.0) @ 1604 MHz (16.00x100.3)
Motherboard:   GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3
Chipset:       Intel Z68 (Cougar Point) [B3]
Memory:        16384 MBytes @ 802 MHz, 9.0-9-9-27
               - 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Kingston HyperX Genesis KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
               - 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Kingston HyperX Genesis KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
               - 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Kingston HyperX Genesis KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
               - 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Kingston HyperX Genesis KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
Graphics:      MSI N650-1GD5/OCV1 (MS-V809) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650, 1024 MB GDDR5
Drive:         ST32000645NS, 1953.5 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive:         ST3160815AS, 156.3 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive:         ST32000645NS, 1953.5 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive:         WDC WD2500AAJS-00B4A0, 244.2 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive:         ST1000LM025 HN-M101ABB, 976.8 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s @ 3Gb/s <-> USB
Drive:         WDC WD20NMVW-11AV3S2, 1953.5 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s @ 3Gb/s <-> USB
Drive:         PIONEER DVD-RW  DVR-221L, DVD+R DL
Sound:         Intel Cougar Point PCH - High Definition Audio Controller [B3]
Sound:         RealTek Semiconductor ALC889 - High Definition Audio Codec
Sound:         NVIDIA GK107 - High Definition Audio Controller
Network:       RealTek Semiconductor RTL8111E PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
USB3:          Etron Technology EJ168A USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB3:          HP USB 3.0 2x2 port Super Speed PCIe x1 Card
Power Supply:  Chieftec GDP-750C (A-90 Series)


and GPU is support OpenCL, but is I select CUDA as compute accellerator for accelerate encoded to H.264/H.265 then Avidemux is carashed, but software encoded is success. Whats needed for use GPU for accelerate encoded to H.264/H.265?

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Thank you, but no. Please retry using WeTransfer.

GTX 650 can accelerate only H.264 encoding, not HEVC. Nvidia H264 hw accel. encoder works fine on my Windows 7 system.

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Thank you, I can't reproduce the crash with your sample and exactly the same collection of video filters.

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
And my error is not 100% reproduced. Such a feeling that this is a "floating" error for the manifestation of which the coincidence of a set of conditions is necessary. And in the debugger at the time of the fall, you can not send the task - while it starts, a fall record is created and the process ends. In the debugger, the return code is 0 and there is nothing to watch. So I think that it might be worthwhile to deploy the debug build in order to try to catch in it where exactly the failure occurs?

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Please ignore my last post. While I really could not reproduce the crash on Linux, my main platform, ...

Edit: Scratch that, I can reproduce it on Linux too. Just open filter preview --> boom.

... I can reliably reproduce it on Windows 7. The sample doesn't matter, but any filter which needs to access the previous frame like FluxSmooth or MPlayer Denoise 3D HQ, placed after ResampleFps, will trigger this crash.

I'm looking into it.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 07:16:41 PM by eumagga0x2a »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
It was my fault :D
In January, I fixed seeking in ResampleFps in a wrong way. The crash should be fixed now, and seeking should work as well.

Thank you for your report.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Please try the latest win64 nightly.

VictorVG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Ok! I download avidemux_r171018_win64Qt5_476.zip (Oct 18 2017 9:39 AM) and avidemux_2.7.0_r171018_win64.exe (Oct 18 2017 9:39 AM) for testing the benefit appeared a bunch of relatively "small" (hour and longer film with a resolution of 480p, and even 720p cram into 150 - 200 MB, but the sound AAC 128 kbps STEREO:)) videos from Youtube and at the same time see if it will be possible to make them a little more humane.:) And now they are even on the screen of a smartphone (my Explay Fresh have 5" IPS screen @720p) is not possible to watch - the quality of the picture of the saints is taken out. ;D

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
You've lost me here. Did this nightly fix the crash for you?