Author Topic: Help with subme and ref frames & save filter settings please.  (Read 1192 times)

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
im using program version 2.7, but i cannot seem to work out out how to set the settings to subme 11 , even when i slide the scale to 10 it encodes at subme 9. so what do i need to do to have it onso i can get the encode result at subme 11,
also when i do an encode of 1280x720 for example i want ref frames at 12 ( i set the ref frames to 12 but it changes to 16 causing pixels all over image and video jumps all over the place when playing ) and subme i want at 11 for good results the maximum i can set it to is 10 on the slider but it encodes to 9), however ref frames seem to be 16 after the encode has finished, being at 16 causes glitches and unplayable.

all of my encodes are 720p or m720p using bitrates at 3000 - 5000kbps and MKV container Mpeg4 avc average bitrate 2 pass and adaptive bframes is set to optimal and i use framerate lookahead of 150 -200 for very good results.,

i use subme 11 and ref 12 in Handbrake with no problem at all, but i prefer your program because it lets me do some editing if needed.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 12:49:13 AM by moonwalker7 »

AQUAR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1076
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 01:31:24 PM »
Not an expert response but maybe this might help.

What is subme - maybe B frames?
If B frames, leave some room for P frames between Idr frames.


eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2018, 08:27:15 PM »
subme=10 requires trellis=2. The x264 encoder plugin GUI in Avidemux doesn't enforce this dependency (yet) while increasing the range for meSlider https://github.com/mean00/avidemux2/blob/master/avidemux_plugins/ADM_videoEncoder/x264/qt4/x264ConfigDialog.ui#L1113 would be trivial.

Can't reproduce the issue with max ref frames.

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 04:00:09 AM »
i dont really understand anything in that link u supplied above , so anyway to get  a maximum of 12 reference frames and not 16.

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2018, 08:00:25 AM »
subme=11 should be available now: [x264/Qt] Bump max subme to 11, automatically set trellis and aq_mode for subme > 9, non-interactively lower subme on disabling variance adaptive quantization or on lowering trellis.

I can't reproduce the behaviour with max ref frames you describe. If I set it to 12, the resulting H.264 stream has ref=12, not 16.

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2018, 05:18:28 AM »
ok  thanks, what do i have to download in order to try this,

is it this file -->
Code: [Select]
https://github.com/mean00/avidemux2.git 
and if so, do i run it to install it or put in a certain folder as is .
never seen this type of file before.
some help needed please.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 05:22:02 AM by moonwalker7 »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2018, 07:14:59 AM »
If you use Windows (64 bit), wait until a nightly build generated after 2018-05-10 has been uploaded (for 32 bit: http://avidemux.org/nightly/win32/). If you use Linux, build yourself. This is especially easy on Ubuntu.

GIT is a version control software, the link I posted allows to see the changes I made to the source code of Avidemux in order to implement the feature.

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2018, 01:10:01 AM »
ok thanks ,  yes i have win 64, 
ill download it when its ready, and let u know how i go . if that works good , then ill have to see about those ref frames issue where i set them at 9 or 12 and they turn out at 16 even when i set the encode to auto @ very slow preset i was still getting 16 ref frames , but ill wait till i test before anything else. ill get back to you next week some time thnx.

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2018, 08:46:14 AM »
i have 64bit windows, is this the nightly version i need --->   avidemux_2.7.0 r180520_win64.exe


eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2018, 11:08:57 AM »
Yes, it is.

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2018, 04:12:42 AM »
hey,

i got it working now using subme 11.

will post the other question here i have in a few days after some testing .

thanks

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help me with subme and ref frames please.
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2018, 12:48:15 AM »
ok, second question i have is -:
i remember about 2 or so years ago when i went into the filters section and say for example i changed the resolution and adjusted colours and applied sharpness , there used to be a save settings tab on the bottom left in that window so if the encode didnt come out like i wanted i could then just load those exact settings and slightly adjust them and try again because now if i close avidemux and then want to try another day , i have no way of knowing what those settings are with the current program version due to the save filters tab gone, so what i want to know is can i save my filters settings anywhere , and if so how ? and if not will this option be coming back in at all ?

thanks .

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6052
Re: Help with subme and ref frames & save filter settings please.
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2018, 04:44:23 AM »
You save as project and remove reference to loaded video. for more details see these:
- 2.6 audio track switching in job.py = top of file with removed loaded video details.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 07:09:06 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

moonwalker7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Help with subme and ref frames & save filter settings please.
« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2018, 04:56:45 AM »
those 2 links didnt help me at all, over my head.
but i did goto save as project and that works good. thanks.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6052
Re: Help with subme and ref frames & save filter settings please.
« Reply #14 on: June 05, 2018, 07:52:52 AM »
sorry, I try to explain more in detail. Project Script