Explanation of Audio Filters please?

Started by Legin777, May 16, 2022, 11:23:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Legin777

I have a video file that I want to convert to AC-3(lav) 640kbps. The default mixer option in the filter tab of the audio output section seems to be set to Stereo. Will I still get the 6 channels when the audio is passed through my receiver or do I need to tick remix and select 5.1 - I am a newbie so would appreciate a proper understanding of the difference between the two settings please?

eumagga0x2a

Settings in the audio output tab of the Preferences affect the playback in Avidemux only, not related to filtering eventually enabled when re-encoding audio.

Quote from: Legin777 on May 16, 2022, 11:23:30 AMI have a video file that I want to convert to AC-3(lav) 640kbps.

Just raw audio? No video? What are the properties (codec, number of channels, eventually also the sampling frequency) of the audio track of the source video?

Legin777

I am converting the audio section only of a video file (copying the video) from EAC-3 6 channel bitrate 7768 kbs sampling rate 48.0 Khz to AC-3(lav) 640kbs. Are you saying that the CONFIGURE and FILTER settings of the audio output section have no affect on the saved converted file?

eumagga0x2a

Quote from: Legin777 on May 16, 2022, 12:13:44 PMAre you saying that the CONFIGURE and FILTER settings of the audio output section have no affect on the saved converted file?

Quote from: eumagga0x2a on May 16, 2022, 11:34:11 AMSettings in the audio output tab of the Preferences

...have no effect on the saved converted file. I didn't mention the audio encoder configuration and audio filter either in the main window or in the "Select audio track" dialog. Of course, they are responsible for the actual output when exporting (saving) a file.

If your receiver doesn't support E-AC3, then yes, you need to re-encode into the plain old AC3. You don't need any filtering for this particular use case.

eumagga0x2a