Working with demux'd DVB-T MPEG PS files in AviDemux 2.6. Tips?

Started by Dannye, February 22, 2013, 09:12:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dannye

I am new to the world of recording TV with my PC (and thus don't entirely know what I am talking about) and would love to use awesome AviDemux for as much of the process as possible...

I have recorded DTV mpeg PS files which I'd like to use AviDemux 2.6.x (time-based so better for avoiding a/v sync issues?) to resize and compress/convert into something along the lines of x264mp4/aac. Trying to work with them as they are throws the 'too short' error - I assume this is because bad reception during the recordings has lead to glitches/corruptions in the file.

Most of the advice out there suggests to run the files through ProjectX which will fix and demux them, so I have done this. The problem now is that I am unable to open the demux'd video .m2v file with AviDemux 2.6.x - I get a 'Cannot find demuxer' error.

- Is there support for doing this and I am doing something wrong?
- I have tried doing the same in 2.5.6 and it works fine, but I am concerned continuing with this version could lead to a/v sync issues etc, and not be the best for converting into x264. Is this true?
- Should I 'remux' the files back together into a single MPEG and then load it into 2.6.x? If so, should I use a dedicated mux'ing program like 'mplex'/'ImagoMPEG-Muxer', or is it fine to use AviDemux 2.5.6 if I just do copy/copy to combine them into the mpeg again?

Thanks for any assistance!

Quick related questions:
- Is it better to try and do any cutting early-on, in ProjectX, or okay to do in AviDemux? (I am hoping the latter, due to AviDemux's fantastic & simple UI)