Author Topic: Version 2.6 ... does not understand the video captured CamStudio or Camtasia Re  (Read 5086 times)

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Version 2.6 ... does not understand the video captured "CamStudio" or "Camtasia Recorder".
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 03:27:25 PM by JimmyJo »

styrol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
MediaInfo says: "Video format: TechSmith Screen Capture"

This a proprietary video format. Use another output format like MPEG-4 packed in MP4 container.

Wikipedia:
"The program allows files to be stored in its own proprietary format, which is only readable by Camtasia itself; this format allows for fairly small file sizes, even for longer presentations. Camtasia also allows the generated video stream to be exported to common video formats which can be read by most computers, even if the Camtasia software is not installed, such as MPEG-2 or MPEG-4. Moreover, distribution of exported videos can be done using the Camtasia Player, which supports a variety of video formats and does not require user installation."

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Fixed, you ll get it with revision > r8652

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6051
Opens static screen capture now.
Can't play video or save/re-encode that TechSmith Screen Capture

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Works here
?

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6051
Can't put my finger on it. When 1st time loading, seems to be not reactive for a some time: slider not movable, clip not playable, then after some time or 2nd loading it works. After all it does work, more a false positive report.
Attached terminal output:
« Last Edit: April 30, 2013, 06:55:40 PM by Jan Gruuthuse »

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Version Avidemux 2.5.6 understands (play, encodes) perfectly codecs these programs "CamStudio" and "Camtasia Recorder". Version Avidemux 2.6.1, 2.6.3 - not play, not encodes.

CamStudio Lossless Codec v1.5
TechSmith Screen Capture Codec v2.0.1

« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 03:35:24 PM by JimmyJo »

styrol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
Quote from: JimmyJo
Version Avidemux 2.6.1, 2.6.3 - not play, not encodes.
Yes, but the latest version should open it: http://avidemux.org/nightly/
Quote from: mean
Fixed, you ll get it with revision > r8652

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Does not work (r8669) with "CamStudio Lossless Codec v1.5", work with "TechSmith Screen Capture Codec v2.0.1"
« Last Edit: May 03, 2013, 11:06:12 PM by JimmyJo »

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 03:28:47 PM by JimmyJo »

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6051
if it should display a static black/white text in that clip, then it works now with  avidemux 2.6.3 r8680.

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
There is something wrong with the downloaded archive (avidemux_r8678_win32.7z) is not extract. 7-Zip 9.20 and 9.30 alpha.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 03:36:05 PM by JimmyJo »

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6051
indeed there is an issue?
Code: [Select]
7-Zip [64] 9.20  Copyright (c) 1999-2010 Igor Pavlov  2010-11-18
p7zip Version 9.20 (locale=en_GB.utf8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs)

Error: /home/jan/Downloads/avidemux_r8681_win32.7z: Can not open file as archive

Errors: 1
Code: [Select]
7-Zip [64] 9.20  Copyright (c) 1999-2010 Igor Pavlov  2010-11-18
p7zip Version 9.20 (locale=en_GB.utf8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs)

Error: /home/jan/Downloads/avidemux_r8678_win32.7z: Can not open file as archive

Errors: 1
could be an upload/storage issue/ ... ?
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 07:49:36 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

JimmyJo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Ok. Avidemux r8681 works with these two codecs.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 03:39:34 PM by JimmyJo »