Author Topic: [SOLVED] Where is the "Frame rate" option??  (Read 20132 times)

zakafreakarama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
[SOLVED] Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« on: April 24, 2015, 06:41:42 AM »
Hi all. Sorry if this topic has been debated before, but I couldn't find any references to it in the forum.

Been a user of the Avidemux 2.5 (Linux) branch for a long time now, but lately I've been testing 2.6 just to check. Pretty much everything has been simplified and/or improved, except for the very useful (for me) "Frame rate" option under the "Video" menu. I can't find it anywhere and I am pretty sure it has not been included in the 2.6 branch. Which is a pity, because it's always been very useful to convert HD videos to PAL DVD. I know one can use the "Resample FPS" filter for that, but the result isn't nearly as good as simply speeding up the video. Having to create an extra frame per second gives a very annoying effect, especially in traveling/panning sequences.

Can this feature be added back to Avidemux, please?

Thanx a lot. :)
« Last Edit: April 27, 2015, 05:59:22 AM by zakafreakarama »

AQUAR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1077
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2015, 09:16:40 AM »
Could you not use the change FPS filter to speed up / slow down?

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6060
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2015, 09:34:50 AM »
not certain if this is what you want:
Load HD content. Then from avidemux menu: Auto -> DVD: use the correct aspect ratios for source and destination 16:9

BBC HD sample 1920*1080i to 720x576 dvd converted: dropbox testHDToDVD.mpg


Tested with Avidemux 2.6.8 (5ef460d) ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS amd64
« Last Edit: April 24, 2015, 12:31:17 PM by Jan Gruuthuse »

zakafreakarama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2015, 11:16:16 AM »
Quote
Could you not use the change FPS filter to speed up / slow down?

No. That filter resamples the video, which means it keeps the total running time. And to do so, it has to either eliminate frames (if the source is NTSC video at 30 fps) or duplicate a frame per second (if the source is film, 24 fps) in order to get a PAL (25 fps) video clip. That is definitely not what I want. As I said, there are some undesirable side effects.

Quote
not certain if this is what you want:
Load HD content. Then from avidemux menu: Auto -> DVD: use the correct aspect ratios for source and destination 16:9

BBC HD sample 1920*1080i to 720x576 dvd converted: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i60i27vkdt687qd/testHDToDVD.mpg?dl=0


Tested with Avidemux 2.6.8 (5ef460d) ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS amd64

Thanks, but again, no. Haven't seen the source, but that clip is from BBC Four, which means it was probably already 25 fps (PAL) rate. And I'm sure the original HD clip had a 16:9 aspect ratio, while your conversion added black bars to make it 4:3. That's rather undesirable, and that's why I don't use the automatic DVD parameters ever. I prefer to tweak the settings manually. I need to speed up film sources that run at a frame rate of 24 OR 23.976 to 25 fps. It was easy with the 2.5.x branch.
 

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6060
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2015, 12:28:48 PM »
Within avidemux only these 2 are available:

zakafreakarama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2015, 07:14:35 AM »
Okay, that was dumb of me.
I assumed the "Change FPS" filter was the old "Resample FPS" one, but I see now they're both there. So the frame rate option has become a "filter" in 2.6. That's OK.

Thanks for your help, guys.

By the way, Jan, the video you encoded is not DVD compliant. Its GOP size is 18, which is out of spec for PAL DVDs (maximum GOP size is 15, most commonly used is 12). You can use a GOP of 18 in NTSC DVDs though.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6060
Re: Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2015, 09:02:50 AM »
Normally I don't do conversions to dvd. Was only on the fly (testing).
enjoy Avidemux

ybulbu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: [SOLVED] Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2019, 11:10:40 AM »
Finally, I've found a practical way to change the frame-rate and the speed of a PAL DVD to its original 24 fps form! I was wondering if there is any way in this program to do it without changing the quality of the frames, in other words to remux the frames, changing only their frame-rate.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2019, 12:00:30 PM by ybulbu »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2861
Re: [SOLVED] Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2019, 06:17:33 PM »
Finally, I've found a practical way to change the frame-rate and the speed of a PAL DVD to its original 24 fps form!

Are you able to stretch audio without gradually losing sync?

Quote
I was wondering if there is any way in this program to do it without changing the quality of the frames, in other words to remux the frames, changing only their frame-rate.

No, this is not implemented.

ybulbu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: [SOLVED] Where is the "Frame rate" option??
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2019, 01:14:55 PM »
Are you able to stretch audio without gradually losing sync?
Yes! Basically using other programs to stretch.
For the videos that I want now to edit, I have the audio stream in its correct speed from another source. The problem is that the PAL version of the movie has a larger frame, with many bits missing at the NTSC DVD of the same company.
Quote
No, this is not implemented.
Thank you very much!