News:

--

Main Menu

[solved]Help with Fade to black

Started by d, December 03, 2016, 04:26:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

d

I have been using Avidemux for about 4 years to produce a weekly video but I haven't been able to get the Fade filter (now called "Fade to black") to work on new versions starting with 2.6.11. I went back to 2.6.10 because I add a 2 second fade-in at the beginning and fade-out at the end of every video.

I just bought a new laptop and decided to try the latest version (2.6.15) but I have the same problem. I do understand how to set the timing. I just did the exact same thing side by side on both computers and it worked correctly with 2.6.10 but there was no fade at all with 2.6.15. The other filters work fine (Crop, Resize, MPlayer eq2 are the ones I use regularly) but not Fade to black.

Both computers have the 64 bit version of Avidemux on Windows 10. I had the same issue on a Windows 7 laptop, though. I can't figure out what I could be doing wrong/differently. I have configured the x264 settings for the type of video I produce but I used the same config in both installations.

Please let me know if you have any ideas. I'll go back to 2.6.10 if I have to but I'd like to use the latest version.

Jan Gruuthuse

apply the filter "Fade to black", select:
- Fade in (going from black to picture)
- Fade out (going from picture to black)
enter start time: [hours] [minutes] [seconds] [milliseconds] (time where you want start filter)
enter end time: [hours] [minutes] [seconds] [milliseconds] (above time + 2seconds)

mark in bottom right hand corner of avidemux GUI:
[v] Play filtered

It should show the fade effect while playing that section of video in avidemux.

video on our YouTube channel: Fade Filter, How to

Just tested: this still works as it should (Ubuntu 14.04.5 64-bit)

d