Author Topic: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux  (Read 1163 times)

BG Davis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« on: January 16, 2018, 06:13:48 PM »
Running Win7
I can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux.
I have the most recent version 2.7 saved in "C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.7 - 64 bits"
But ever since installing the first iteration of v.2.7, if I try to use "Open with…" to open a video clip, the version that appears is 2.6.1.  No matter what I try, I can't make v2.7 appear in the list of "Open with…" programs on my computer.
So I have to open v2.7, then find the clip and open it.  This is time-consuming and inefficient.
Is there a fix for this?  (I hesitate to delete previous versions since I don't want to delete any files that might be needed to run later versions.  And some previous versions have convenient features that have disappeared in later versions.)


BG Davis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2018, 09:19:25 PM »
Thanks but I am aware of the procedure described in the link you provided.  It does not make any difference.  I can assign any other program I want (older versions of Avidemux, etc.) but v2.7 does not appear.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 11:36:55 AM by BG Davis »

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6052
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2018, 05:48:10 AM »
I'm not on windows, is there not a way where you can browse to avidemux 2.7, in these procedures.

BG Davis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 11:32:59 AM »
Yes, there is, but for whatever reason the program refuses to open v2.7 from it.
See attached images.
Even more strange, now that I have v2.7 180123, a previous version of v2.7 now appears in the list of options (image attached).  It's as if the latest iteration won't appear but previous ones will.

Image 1: selected v2.7 from browse list in Program files.
Image 2: v.2.6 appears not v.2.7.
Image 3: Options list now includes older build of v.2.7
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 11:36:22 AM by BG Davis »

AQUAR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1076
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2018, 12:01:51 PM »
If you installed these V2.6 and V2.7, then probably the application data/configuration settings are getting mixed up.
Should not run these together on the same PC (V2.5 plus V2.6orV2.7 is okay).

Else run all these avidemuxes as a portable in their own private folder (not in the special "program files" folder)

BG Davis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2018, 03:41:04 AM »
Thanks for the information!  I didn't realize that would be a problem.

overburner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2018, 10:27:27 AM »
I've installed today the last avidemux 2.7 version, unisstalled 2.6 version but v2.7 doesn't appear in the list of "Open with…" programs on my computer.
Of course I've tried to choose the program from the list with right click/open with/default programs but after choosen avidemux it is ignored!!

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2018, 10:47:17 AM »
https://www.technorms.com/26760/add-remove-programs-open-menu-registry

What happens when you replace "avidemux.exe" with

"avidemux.exe --load"

in the registry key?

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
Re: Can't use "Open with…" to use latest version of Avidemux
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2018, 10:52:06 AM »
The background: Avidemux requires --load as option between the exe name and the file name of the video.