Author Topic: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?  (Read 332 times)

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Hi!

I came from Windows and switchte to Linux-Ubuntu (V18.04.1 LTS with Mate-desktop) last month. And that shall be with a "journey of no return". All is meanwhile running well, but using Avidemux makes me some trouble. I want to use the latest nightly-build of Avidemux, so I grabbed to the AppImage. This is running quite well, except one thing: I can't do batch-operatings.

So can anyone tell me, where I can find or what is to do, to use an "Avidemux-Jobs"-Program, which can address the AppImage for batch-operations?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 06:19:45 PM by thursdaychild »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2422
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 04:34:24 PM »
If you wish to keep pace with the current Avidemux development, you should build Avidemux from source yourself which is almost trivial on Ubuntu.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 06:10:03 PM »
Thanks for the link! - Later I'll try to build Avidemux from source. But I suppose I will fail. Anyway, let's see....

I also have to report that the Avidemux-version from the repositories from Ubuntu is faulty in parts. Always when I do a batch-process with let's say about 15 tasks, about 3 to 4 will be not finished and cancelled. If I start a second run the faulty encoding-tasks (x264/MKV) are encoded correctly.

But the Avidemux-version is dated from august 2017 and labelled as "v2.7.1 v2". But in the repos they are marked as V2.6 . With the more actual repos, labelled as version "2.6" from october 2018 you can't do batch-processing. Something in the dependencies between the "avidemux_jobs" and the main-program is wrong.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2018, 02:21:49 PM »
Thanks for the link! - Later I'll try to build Avidemux from source. But I suppose I will fail. Anyway, let's see....
Okay, I managed to build Avidemux from source now. Maybe later I'll upload the .deb-Files, so that anyone can install them without the time-consuming build-process.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 06:12:07 PM by thursdaychild »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2422
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2018, 02:34:59 PM »
You might want to repeat the build after checking out the ffmpeg4x branch

Code: [Select]
git pull
git checkout ffmpeg4x

It contains a number of important fixes the git master doesn't have yet + FFmpeg 4.1.

Please don't upload debs, the CPack generated debs are rubbish, helpful only to facilitate uninstall.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2018, 03:15:15 PM »
If I type your installation-commands, I receive the following error-messages:

Quote
frankoz@ASUS-LAPTOP:~$ git pull
fatal: Kein Git-Repository (oder irgendeines der Elternverzeichnisse): .git
frankoz@ASUS-LAPTOP:~$ git checkout ffmpex4x
fatal: Kein Git-Repository (oder irgendeines der Elternverzeichnisse): .git

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2422
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2018, 04:02:22 PM »
You must change to the avidemux2 directory before executing these commands.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2018, 06:08:00 PM »
Okay, thanks. I will check that later. - But when are these fixes and improvements concerning FFmpeg expected to be merged to the main-code?

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2018, 07:54:33 PM »
I think everything went right. Now "my" Avidemux works with the most advanced FFmpeg 4.1-libraries. :)
Thanks for all the help here.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 07:57:11 PM by thursdaychild »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2422
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2018, 08:02:23 PM »
Glad to hear that.

For the ffmpeg4x branch to be merged into master, the build infrastructure for the ffmpeg4x branch must be created and proven working correctly first, so that a public Beta can be offered to wide audience.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2018, 10:07:49 PM »
Yet another question: I tried to generate an AppImage of these source-files, using the command-line "sudo sh makeAppImage.sh", but at the end the build-process cancels with the following error-message:

Quote
** ALL DONE **
** The installable packages are in the debs folder **
 ** Creating AppImage file **
QT_HOME not set, cancelling

Where has that QT_HOME (-directory?) to be set?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 10:10:54 PM by thursdaychild »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2422
Re: How to address the "Avidemux.AppImage" from the "Avidemux_Jobs"-Queue?
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2018, 10:15:28 PM »
You can't create an appImage this way, it needs some special tools and the environment the script is made for (I can't create it either :-D). Why would you want one?

By the way, you even don't need to install Avidemux to be able to run it, have a look at https://github.com/mean00/avidemux2/blob/ffmpeg4x/run_avidemux_template.sh

Caveat: AFAIR the Jobs GUI is not yet compatible with portable mode.