News:

--

Main Menu

HEVC to H.264 conversion issues

Started by khan123, April 22, 2019, 02:49:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

khan123

Hi folks. I have been using Avidemux since 2011 to do simple cutting and joining of videos recorded through mobile phones. Until recently videos from my mobile were recorded in H.264 and I would simply copy video and audio output for edited videos. Recently I bought a new phone which records HEVC (it cannot be changed in the app I use to shoot videos). So when I try to edit videos and save in the MP4v2 Muxer format I get this error message "Muxer: Cannot open".

So I am forced to save output in MP4 Muxer which has created several new issues. The edited videos do not have any thumbnails, quick look doesn't work and cannot be played in Quicktime. Also, in the edited video the transitional frames where I cut and join the segments show grey chequered marks while playing.

I apologise for the lengthy post but I do a lot of casual video editing at home and until now Avidemux has been my go-to software. I would like suggestions/advice how to mitigate these issues so I can have quality mp4 videos to play. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

eumagga0x2a

MP4v2 muxer is a zombie, to be removed sooner rather than later.

QuoteThe edited videos do not have any thumbnails, quick look doesn't work and cannot be played in Quicktime.

Thanks for raising the issue, should be fixed by [muxerMp4] Let QuickTime on macOS join the party, label HEVC as hvc1 instead of hev1, please try a future Avidemux nightly build. When saving HEVC video as MP4, it will use a different label (though the other one was completely valid and fine, it is just a QuickTime limitation that it doesn't accept the other label).

QuoteAlso, in the edited video the transitional frames where I cut and join the segments show grey chequered marks while playing.