News:

--

Main Menu

Building for Windows

Started by nemach, March 25, 2020, 01:24:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nemach

Hi - newbie question...

I'd like to do some scripted video editing with python and am missing the keyframe finding feature in the tinypy implementation mentioned here:
https://avidemux.org/smif/index.php/topic,18446.0.html

As a C/C++ dev, I'm quite happy to have a go at extending the functionality, but I'd like a few pointers for Windows development. Is there an up-to-date Wiki guide on how to build from scratch on Windows? I've tried to follow the mingw plug-in build instructions from the old wiki (https://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=build:devel_2.6) but am getting link problems. Are the 2.7.5 Windows lib files compatible with mingw?

TBH, I'd prefer to use MSVC++ anyway - can a newer version than v.6 be used?

Apologies if this is all documented elsewhere - if so, please just point me in the right direction! If it really is pointless trying to build on Windows with newer versions, then I guess I can persevere with cross-compiling from a Ubuntu VM.

Neil

eumagga0x2a

Quote from: nemach on March 25, 2020, 01:24:39 PM
Is there an up-to-date Wiki guide on how to build from scratch on Windows?

No, unfortunately not. I can't help either because I didn't manage to build Avidemux with Visual Studio 2017 ~ a year ago and didn't have time and impetus to give it a new try with Visual Studio 2019.

QuoteI've tried to follow the mingw plug-in build instructions from the old wiki (https://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=build:devel_2.6) but am getting link problems. Are the 2.7.5 Windows lib files compatible with mingw?

No, you must use VC++. As long as you just work on plugins, https://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=build:devel_2.6_msvc + https://avidemux.org/smif/index.php/topic,18849.msg87315.html#msg87315 should work, but you probably need a debug build, not possible with the official VC++ Avidemux nightlies.