News:

--

Main Menu

Keyboard shortcut broken in 2.7.7

Started by beno, February 02, 2021, 05:39:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

beno

Hey there, I've been using avidemux happily for a few years. It's great to have the ability to use 'Open with' now, but the keyboard shortcut for 'Delete' has been messed up. I use alternative keyboard shortcuts (these have been intuitive for me, not sure where the standard ones originated); now suddenly the shortcut for Delete is no longer backspace but forward-delete. On a Mac this requires holding Fn+Delete, and though the OS allows custom keyboard shortcuts, the delete key is not allowed to be used there. I'm back on 2.7.6 for now, but hoping this can be reverted :)

This is using 2.7.7 201115-10h09m_c78c5708108 (the latest Catalina nightly, but same issue using the newer nightly under Mojave).

eumagga0x2a

Open ~/.avidemux6/config3 with a text editor and replace

"alt_delete" : "Delete"
in the "keyboard_shortcuts" struct with

"alt_delete" : "Backspace"
Problem solved.

beno

Thanks for the reply. Much better! I had to delete the config3 file and let it be regenerated by 2.7.7 before it had an effect.

Sounds like you had a reason for making the swap, my two cents are still that the original (backspace) behavior was more usable and that if a user prefers to use the 2-key shortcut, they could go about it by editing the config file. Cheers.

eumagga0x2a

Quote from: beno on February 05, 2021, 07:25:55 PMI had to delete the config3 file and let it be regenerated by 2.7.7 before it had an effect.

You probably edited the file while Avidemux was running, which is futile as it would have overwritten it on exit with the copy it keeps in memory.

Quote from: beno on February 05, 2021, 07:25:55 PMSounds like you had a reason for making the swap