Author Topic: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)  (Read 252 times)

andrewk8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« on: July 13, 2018, 09:52:44 PM »
ADM 2.7.1 x64 on Windows 10 x64.

New issue in 2.7.1 that wasn't in 2.7.0 or late 2.6.x

I navigate videos mostly with the arrow keys: up/down to navigate between I frames; left/right to fine tune between frames.  Occasionally I drag the seek bar with a mouse, but that's less common navigation.

In 2.7.1, sometimes the left/right arrow keys don't work.  But the up/down arrow keys continue to work.  To get the left/right arrow keys to work, you can click in a few key locations in the ADM window.  Not everywhere works, though.  I know clicking under the navigation buttons (always?) re-enables left/right key.  There are certain places in the ADM window you can click and it won't re-enable the left/right keys, yet up/down continue to work.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 12:49:05 AM »
Have you tried the latest nightly (currently r180702)? Just to be sure you don't see the regression in 2.7.1 release fixed by [editor/nextPicture] Update lastReadPts when the next image has been found in the cache.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6000
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 05:27:48 AM »
If problem persists:
Are you using
- An country specific keyboard other then US qwerty?
- Other [User Interface] preferences found @ Avidemux Menu: Edit: Preferences? see attached screenshot

You could perhaps try finding avidemux config file(s) and delete these if found?
Use file browser and search for config2 and config3, if these are avidemux related, just delete.
- \avidemux\config2
- \avidemux\config3
In windows to be found normally in AppData folder
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 05:30:55 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2018, 02:19:33 PM »
If the problem persists with the latest nightly, please provide exact steps required to reproduce the issue. If the issue is related to a particular video, please provide a sample.

I would not suspect Avidemux configuration and keyboard settings to be at fault in any way, but the log file (admlog.txt) might be very helpful.

andrewk8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2018, 07:08:13 PM »
... for the 2.7.1 release... Keyboard is US English.  Windows 10 default USB keyboard driver.

The %AppData%\avidemux\admlog.txt file was last written ~a year ago by ADM 2.6.21.  I've used ADM 2.7 and 2.7.1 since to edit videos.

Just happened again.
  • Drag file from Windows Explorer.  Drop on ADM
  • Use up/down arrow keys to navigate
  • Using mouse, click the "A" cut point
At this point, right / left arrow keys don't work.  Up / down arrow keys still work to navigate to I frames.

Exited ADM and deleted the config2 and config3 files.  Steps above did not happen with the 1st video I cut with ADM, but happened with the second (same session).

Update: still happens in the July 2 nightly.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2018, 12:34:32 AM by andrewk8 »

dirk362

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2018, 07:32:50 PM »
Can confirm issues also exists in Linux as well (LinuxMint 19.0 with XFCE).
Build Avidemux 2.7.1 - 4782c8568da-fflibs 3.3.7) - last build on 2nd July from GIT.

When this happens, if you click anywhere in Toolbar area, arrow keys (left/right) start to work.
Doesn't happen all the time - probably around 1/3 of the time.
Clicking in toolbar area seems to fix 'focus' issue to recognise keys again.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2018, 10:09:31 PM »
Can confirm issues also exists in Linux as well (LinuxMint 19.0 with XFCE).
Build Avidemux 2.7.1 - 4782c8568da-fflibs 3.3.7) - last build on 2nd July from GIT.

Did you build Avidemux yourself or did you use the appImage? I can't reproduce it (or better, can't make happen unintentionally) so far on my Fedora 28 system.

Quote
When this happens, if you click anywhere in Toolbar area, arrow keys (left/right) start to work.
Doesn't happen all the time - probably around 1/3 of the time.
Clicking in toolbar area seems to fix 'focus' issue to recognise keys again.

The only location in the Avidemux GUI which can stop arrow keys from being interpreted as previous/next picture is the combo box to set audio shift. So sometimes this combo box receives (unintentionally?) focus. Moving the focus elsewhere should revive the left/right keys again.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2018, 12:21:35 PM »
I tried hard to reproduce the focus issue with the given steps on Windows 7 to no avail. Something else must happen to move focus to the audio shift input field which in turn would make left/right arrow to stop being interpreted as previous/next picture. Once this issue strikes again, pressing the tab key should be enough to move the focus to another GUI element, thus restoring the previous/next picture keyboard shortcuts.

So far, WFM, can't reproduce. Will try on Win10 later.

andrewk8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2018, 01:31:51 PM »
pressing the tab key should ... restoring the previous/next picture keyboard shortcuts.
Tab key confirmed to restore left/right arrow keys.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2018, 10:21:41 PM »
Can't reproduce focus inadvertently without user interaction moving to the audio shift combo box on win10 either --> WFM.

dirk362

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2018, 10:38:00 PM »
Did you build Avidemux yourself or did you use the appImage? I can't reproduce it (or better, can't make happen unintentionally) so far on my Fedora 28 system.

Build on LinuxMint 19 via ADM supplied standard bash shell script from github.
I have changed OS from LM 18.3 to LM 19, and did a recompile for latest GIT source at time. Never had issue on LM 18.3 but that was a few commits earlier in terms of source.
As you say, click anywhere, or press tab, makes focus okay again and arrow keys work.

I am wondering if this is a QT regression and not specific to ADM. I have dvbcut with right arrow key input issue.

I am going to revert to LM 18.3 on spare machine and compile same GIT release and see if any difference to see if can help narrow this down.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6000
QT5 5.9.5 on 18.04 LTS
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2018, 06:21:31 AM »
I've not come across arrow keys issue on 64-bit 16.04 LTS or 18.04 LTS
on 18.04 LTS these QT5 are installed:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l *qt5* | grep ii
Code: [Select]
ii  libqt5concurrent5:amd64         5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 concurrent module
ii  libqt5core5a:amd64              5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 core module
ii  libqt5dbus5:amd64               5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 D-Bus module
ii  libqt5designer5:amd64           5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 designer module
ii  libqt5designercomponents5:amd64 5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 Designer components module
ii  libqt5gui5:amd64                5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 GUI module
ii  libqt5help5:amd64               5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 help module
ii  libqt5multimedia5:amd64         5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 Multimedia module
ii  libqt5network5:amd64            5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 network module
ii  libqt5opengl5:amd64             5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 OpenGL module
ii  libqt5opengl5-dev:amd64         5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 OpenGL library development files
ii  libqt5positioning5:amd64        5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu2     amd64        Qt Positioning module
ii  libqt5printsupport5:amd64       5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 print support module
ii  libqt5qml5:amd64                5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 QML module
ii  libqt5quick5:amd64              5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 Quick library
ii  libqt5quickwidgets5:amd64       5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 Quick Widgets library
ii  libqt5script5:amd64             5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 script module
ii  libqt5scripttools5:amd64        5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 script tools module
ii  libqt5sensors5:amd64            5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt Sensors module
ii  libqt5sql5:amd64                5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 SQL module
ii  libqt5sql5-sqlite:amd64         5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 SQLite 3 database driver
ii  libqt5svg5:amd64                5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 SVG module
ii  libqt5test5:amd64               5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 test module
ii  libqt5webchannel5:amd64         5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Web communication library for Qt
ii  libqt5webkit5:amd64             5.212.0~alpha2-7ubuntu1 amd64        Web content engine library for Qt
ii  libqt5widgets5:amd64            5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 widgets module
ii  libqt5x11extras5:amd64          5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 X11 extras
ii  libqt5xml5:amd64                5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 XML module
ii  qt5-assistant                   5.9.5-0ubuntu1          amd64        Qt 5 Assistant
ii  qt5-gtk-platformtheme:amd64     5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 GTK+ 3 platform theme
ii  qt5-qmake:amd64                 5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 qmake Makefile generator tool
ii  qt5-qmake-bin                   5.9.5+dfsg-0ubuntu1     amd64        Qt 5 qmake Makefile generator tool — binary file
« Last Edit: July 19, 2018, 06:39:57 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6000
QT5 5.5.1 on 16.04 LTS
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2018, 06:38:25 AM »
on 16.04 LTS these QT5 are installed:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l *qt5* | grep ii
Code: [Select]
ii  libqt5clucene5:amd64            5.5.1-3ubuntu0.1                   amd64        Qt 5 CLucene module
ii  libqt5concurrent5:amd64         5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 concurrent module
ii  libqt5core5a:amd64              5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 core module
ii  libqt5dbus5:amd64               5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 D-Bus module
ii  libqt5designer5:amd64           5.5.1-3ubuntu0.1                   amd64        Qt 5 designer module
ii  libqt5designercomponents5:amd64 5.5.1-3ubuntu0.1                   amd64        Qt 5 Designer components module
ii  libqt5feedback5:amd64           5.0~git20130529-0ubuntu13          amd64        Qt Feedback module
ii  libqt5gui5:amd64                5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 GUI module
ii  libqt5help5:amd64               5.5.1-3ubuntu0.1                   amd64        Qt 5 help module
ii  libqt5multimedia5:amd64         5.5.1-4ubuntu2                     amd64        Qt 5 Multimedia module
ii  libqt5network5:amd64            5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 network module
ii  libqt5opengl5:amd64             5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 OpenGL module
ii  libqt5opengl5-dev:amd64         5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 OpenGL library development files
ii  libqt5organizer5:amd64          5.0~git20140515~29475884-0ubuntu20 amd64        Qt PIM module, Organizer library
ii  libqt5positioning5:amd64        5.5.1-3ubuntu1                     amd64        Qt Positioning module
ii  libqt5printsupport5:amd64       5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 print support module
ii  libqt5qml5:amd64                5.5.1-2ubuntu6                     amd64        Qt 5 QML module
ii  libqt5quick5:amd64              5.5.1-2ubuntu6                     amd64        Qt 5 Quick library
ii  libqt5quicktest5:amd64          5.5.1-2ubuntu6                     amd64        Qt 5 Quick Test library
ii  libqt5quickwidgets5:amd64       5.5.1-2ubuntu6                     amd64        Qt 5 Quick Widgets library
ii  libqt5script5:amd64             5.5.1+dfsg-2build1                 amd64        Qt 5 script module
ii  libqt5scripttools5:amd64        5.5.1+dfsg-2build1                 amd64        Qt 5 script tools module
ii  libqt5sql5:amd64                5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 SQL module
ii  libqt5sql5-sqlite:amd64         5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 SQLite 3 database driver
ii  libqt5svg5:amd64                5.5.1-2build1                      amd64        Qt 5 SVG module
ii  libqt5test5:amd64               5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 test module
ii  libqt5waylandclient5:amd64      5.5.1-2build1                      amd64        QtWayland client library
ii  libqt5webkit5:amd64             5.5.1+dfsg-2ubuntu1                amd64        Web content engine library for Qt
ii  libqt5widgets5:amd64            5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 widgets module
ii  libqt5x11extras5:amd64          5.5.1-3build1                      amd64        Qt 5 X11 extras
ii  libqt5xml5:amd64                5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 XML module
ii  libsignon-qt5-1:amd64           8.58+16.04.20151106-0ubuntu1       amd64        Single Sign On framework
ii  qt5-qmake:amd64                 5.5.1+dfsg-16ubuntu7.5             amd64        Qt 5 qmake Makefile generator tool
« Last Edit: July 19, 2018, 06:40:35 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2018, 06:39:54 AM »
I was building and testing Avidemux on macOS, Linux and Windows (7 and 10, 64 bits) using various Qt relelases and never experienced the audio shift combo box getting focus on its own. Something else I never use might be responsible. "Focus follows mouse" maybe?

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6000
Re: Arrow Keys don't work (sometimes)
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2018, 06:50:12 AM »
Sometimes I loose the avidemux text menus with mouse hovers over, need to restart.