News:

--

Main Menu

Re-Muxing DTS to AC3

Started by Ronstang, October 28, 2023, 07:24:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ronstang

I'm new to doing this and have been an avid avidemux user over the years so this seems a strong option.  I tried it and it worked quickly and resulting audio seems of quality I just want to understand what I am doing.  I picked the lav filter as I wanted a higher bitrate.

Does the lav encoder use VBR encoding for ac3?  I ask because I tried other utilities to do the same file as a comparison and those use ffmpeg, which is what I traditionally used for re-muxing while encoding, and I got a different file size for every single utility I tried on the same file using the same target bitrate.  I have been told that ffmpeg does not support VBR encoding so that does not explain the difference between the two options I tried using ffmpeg....same version that I have all my programs that utilize ffmpeg use. 

Is there a quality difference between lav and ffmpeg?  I'm simply trying to pick the best quality and then use the utility that I find the easiest.  I like avidemux and always have but it has no option for ffmpeg.

eumagga0x2a....I suppose there is a reason you chose lav of aften over ffmpeg.  I was just wondering if you could school me here.  Just trying to learn.

Thanks

szlldm

Ronstang

Quote from: szlldm on October 28, 2023, 08:39:30 PMlav is ffmpeg

Learn something every day.  If that is the case I don't see ffmpeg anywhere in the Avidemux folder so where does it find the ffmpeg executable?  I have it in a folder under Program Files but it's been so long since I installed Avidemux that I don't remember pointing it there.  And if I had to point it to ffmpeg it is one sitting somewhere I forgot about and I need to switch it to the current build I just installed for comparison.

szlldm

parts of ffmpeg are integrated into Avidemux

eumagga0x2a

I may be wrong here, but AFAIK the ac3 encoder in libavcodec outputs CBR only.