News:

--

Main Menu

Frame Rate Incorrectly Reported

Started by Hushpower, November 15, 2023, 11:22:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hushpower

I've been playing around with a MTS file, which is attached. AVIDemux, in File Information, is reporting it as 50fps, but every other program I've got eg VideoRedo, Magix, Virtual Dub and Media Info is reporting it as 25fps.

When I do a "Copy Copy" on it, the resulting file shows 50fps in MediaInfo.

It seems AVIDemux is reading the frame rate incorrectly, and then applying that incorrect frame rate to the output file, even though it's only "copying" it.

I'm not an expert on this stuff so may be off on a tangent...

I've attached my version of AVIDemux and added a Google Drive link because the forum wouldn't accept an M2TS.

File:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/12AdNw4ZeF8UU1vJWejbnDGtWHK2ZsRC7/view?usp=sharing

eumagga0x2a

I'll try to look at the sample tomorrow, it might be a field-encoded interlaced video. In such a case, Avidemux must use the field rate when in copy mode (the frame rate is half the field rate).

Hushpower

Thank you, this problematic file came up (as an MTS) on the Magix forum. It looks like it was sourced from a DVB-T recording of some kind and Magix couldn't open it. I did a Copy Copy with AVIDemux into MP4 and it fixed it nicely. The only issue is the incorrect reported frame rate.

The general consensus was the MTS was weirdly encoded, hence the trouble with it.

eumagga0x2a

From the output of mediainfo:

Video
ID                                       : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID                                  : 807 (0x327)
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L4
Format settings                          : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, Reference frames        : 4 frames