Error trimming MOV (QuickTime) files. Can anybody advise me what i'm doing wrong

Started by djboshh, March 13, 2012, 01:40:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

djboshh

Error trimming MOV (QuickTime) files. Can anybody advise me what i'm doing wrong?

I'm new to Avidemux & I don't know much about video formats and so any help is appreciated.

MediaInfo tells me my video file/s are MPEG-4 (QuickTime) with Audio of 256Kbps, 16.0 KHz, 16 bits, 1 channel, PCM (Big/Signed).

What i want to do is to lossless trim the start & ends of my video clips. I understand that all i need to do in Avidemux is to locate the file, mark the new start and end points, leave the Video & Audio drop down box on 'Copy' (to keep it lossless) and then to make sure the Format drop down box matches that of your file. Now, there is no option in the format drop down box for .MOV (QuickTime) and so i assume that i should choose the MP4 option (like MediaInfo states). I then attempt to save my new file, & I understand (from reading these forums) that i have to include the file extension myself in the save window and so i assume my files are classed as MPEG-4 and so I use the .mp4 extension. However, when i do this i get an error message saying invalid audio stream detected.

It's obvious that i'm doing something wrong. Can anybody advise me what it is please and how to do it right?

Agent_007

I am away between 15th of May - 15th of June. (yes, I am playing D3)

djboshh

Thanks & yes

P.s The MOV file is untouched straight from my Camera (Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3). Also, i have the latest version of K-lite codec pack installed on my PC.

http://www.mediafire.com/?azw13nq8euaa5p0

styrol

QuoteHowever, when i do this i get an error message saying invalid audio stream detected.
What compatibility is concerned you shouldn't put PCM audio in MP4 container. Such private streams are only supported by some software (mainly QuickTime). Apple uses the MOV format for this.