News:

--

Main Menu

Smart-Copy

Started by Spellbinder, December 25, 2013, 07:14:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spellbinder

First of all let me say thank you for your great work! I really like avidemux and use it very often. Mainly to cut commercials out of tv captures.

But there is one feature that I am missing very much: Smart-Copy

I am no developer so I canÃ,´t code myself, but I thought I give it a try from a business analyst point of view what it would take to implement this featureââ,¬Â¦

First of all letÃ,´s define what ââ,¬Å"smart-copyââ,¬Â means:

Copy mode is currently limited to cut only at I-Frames. Only way to cut at non I-Frames at the moment is to completely re-encode the complete video. Since re-encoding always reduces quality this is not good and takes quite a while, too. So to bridge the gap there is ââ,¬Å"smart-copyââ,¬Â. It will encode only the necessary parts at the cut-points and otherwise copy the video. So only a very small part of the video is encoded and the rest stays the same.

So what would it take to implement this?

1.   Identify the parts that need to be encoded. Avidemux already seems to check if cutpoints are I-Frames when in copy mode. So identifying the non I-Frames should be easy?
2.   Specify the exact from-to of the part that needs to be encoded. This would be the non-Iframe cutpoint until the next I-Frame (excluded).
3.   After all parts that need to be encoded have been specified they would need to be encoded. Avidemux can also do this right now as well 
4.   After all the necessary parts have been encoded avidemux would have to append all the parts together with the copy parts of the video in between. Appending is also already possible in avidemux.