News:

--

Main Menu

Problem with 1080i VC1 files

Started by MadScientist, January 09, 2014, 01:31:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MadScientist

I'd like to stream 1080i VC1 files to my HTPC but a combination XBMC and my Intel graphics can't handle them (horrible blocking, motion judder).  It's a known issue - not just me.   I'd therefore like to encode these files to a different format.

Here lies the problem as I'm a complete novice when it comes to video encoding.    Ideally, I'd just like to deinterlace my 1080i VC1 files to 1080p but I've yet to find an application that can do that.     Avidemux appears to be one of the better encoders around so I've been trying various options, mainly encoding to x264 using the optimal settings as defined in the tutorial and using yadif as the deinterlacing algorithm.    All the settings, Iââ,¬â,,¢ve so far tried result in playback that looks a bit jerky at times.  It's not terrible but then again itââ,¬â,,¢s not acceptable.   

I just wondered if anyone could offer advice on the best way to either just deinterlace these files or encode them into a format that will provide good quality playback.   Mnay thanks.

Isias

You can convert a 1080i file to a 1080p file, but it doesn't make much sense. Delivering a converted 1080p signal will not provide any better results in many cases and indeed may reduce the quality of the image. A true 1080p signal carries twice as much information as a 1080i signal. Converting a 1080i signal to a 1080p signal does not in any way increase the amount of information in the image.

Most likely, the conversion will blow up your file size while decreasing the image quality.

Since even the Raspberry Pi can play streaming 1080i files from a NAS (i do that myself), i doubt that your HTPC lacks the power. It's more likely some CPU setting. Do you use DXVA? Could you turn it off for testing?

MadScientist