Author Topic: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted  (Read 5678 times)

twinsun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« on: April 07, 2015, 09:03:47 PM »
Job item in Jobs list can't be deleted if failed; change a status is the same.
Must delete .sql and jobs in roaming to reset.
It appears some versions ago, can't say when exactly (64 version).

twinsun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 09:33:19 PM »
"I use Jobs to give works to computer for it's day work, a couple of ten jobs each time.
So Jobs is very usefull, even if I know that instances of AVDM can run simultaneously.
It's not the same use."

That said Jobs is fully usable.
- Only jobs having "failed" status in the list (for any true reason), could not be deleted, nor their status changed.
When a process failed (rarely), next are run, so all is going well.
This doesn't end the process at any time. So not a big issue. 
I must have a shortcut to roaming dir, to delete .sql and files in jobs dir, to reset the situation.
Quick but not in the rules

- Why not having all files and directories related to Jobs (and so AVDM), inside the main AVDM directory, may be as a choice.
This way the good, it's portable (7z version), the 'bad', it's not user related (for those who share computer).

AQUAR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2015, 12:41:07 PM »
ADM is not developed under windows so your issue may not be addressed.

Just as a thought:
Could use the portable version to avoid windows security folders.
The portable version keeps everything contained to the folder it is run from.


poutnik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2015, 06:35:14 AM »
ADM is not developed under windows so your issue may not be addressed.

Hmm, but Roaming folder is not protected folder like Program Files,
so AVDM should be able to delete failed jobs in its database,
so it is not matter of portability.



AQUAR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2015, 01:11:08 PM »
The roaming folders are special windows folders as well.
Programs that are not installed in the special "programs folder" will have their program data "virtualised" in the roaming folder.
So its a different kind of security measure.

That said, you are right in so much that I've never had any problems manually deleting items from these folders.
But for programs that run outside the programs folder that could be a ???
Don't have time to play with ADM at the moment to check this out.

Hopefully the OP will try the portable approach and tell us what happens. 
 

twinsun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2015, 03:02:37 PM »
Poutnik +1
Not Windows related, since deletes and changes in the AVDM window jobs was not a problem with previous AVDM version (and so Jobs.exe).

'Delete' issue appears in some Nightly ago, last I use is avdm 060415.
If I can I will trace the last good one.


twinsun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2015, 03:55:34 PM »
... and that this small issue only goes for jobs with 'failed' status.

All others, you can 'clean up', 'delete', force 'ready', and so on.
It only concerns the gotten status 'failed' jobs.
When gotten, the job is frozen in the list.
Not long time ago, it was not an issue.

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2015, 06:33:13 AM »
Might be some debug code that are still on

twinsun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Failed job item in Jobs list can't be deleted
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2015, 07:54:18 PM »
A kind of FIX : I use jobs.exe from r100215_4470_win64, with latest AVDM.
And it's ok.

Last good one I have is r100215_4470_win64

No delete issue occurs with r230315__win64Qt5 and furthers I have.
Perhaps Qt5 is a significant change.

About : deleting .sql is sufficient to reset,
 and (oups) , only 'clean up' is working, status changing and deleting are not working)