Video preview jumps forward when stop is pressed

Started by Alan Thew, November 09, 2016, 10:17:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan Thew

Hi everyone. I've been using Avidemux for a couple of years on Linux and Windows, and I think it's wonderful; but yesterday I encountered a very odd problem that I can't resolve. Currently I'm using Windows 10 64-bit.

Very simple to describe the problem: if I open a video and start to play it, and then stop it, when the video stops it jumps forward by about ten frames. This happens if you press SPACE or if you use the buttons.

The type of video doesn't seem to make any difference: replicated using an MPEG2 file in TS container (a digital satellite DVB stream) and x264 in MP4 (captured from analogue using FFMPEG). I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling versions 2.6.12, 2.6.13 and 2.6.14 (64-bit) and the behaviour is the same in all of them. I've tried rolling back and re-updating my video driver (Intel HD 4600). I've tried removing the few Windows updates it's possible to remove. Rebuilding the indexes makes no difference.

I hadn't used Avidemux for a couple of months until yesterday, but I used it every day for weeks a few months ago, and I'm sure this odd behaviour wasn't occurring back then. I wonder if the Windows Anniversary Update could have screwed something up?

Possibly related: the "Frame type" indicator under the preview video doesn't change when the video is playing; it only updates when the video is stopped. I'm sure this used to rapidly change while the video was actually playing. It definitely did in version 2.5. Also, the stop-jumping issue does not occur in version 2.5.

Is anyone else experiencing this, or able to replicate it, or able to offer any insight? Many thanks everyone.

Alan

eumagga0x2a