Author Topic: Bug new version 2.7.1  (Read 225 times)

heru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Bug new version 2.7.1
« on: June 10, 2018, 07:02:02 AM »
Hello,

Since the new version, when I erase a sequence in a video, I have a succession of jerk when I move back frame by frame.

I am on Windows 10 x64.

After reinstalling the 2.7.0, more bug ...

That's it, for my return ..

Good Sunday.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1956
Re: Bug new version 2.7.1
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2018, 12:57:58 PM »
Please define "a succession of jerk".

As a rule, when you delete a portion of video between keyframes A and B, the last playback position is equal B. After deletion, Avidemux tries to keep the last displayed image of the video, in this case the keyframe at B. To go to a previous image, Avidemux has to find the previous keyframe which is now the last keyframe before A and decode the full GOP until the image with the highest presentation timestamp still below B pops out. Depending on the GOP length, this may be very time consuming, so it is technically impossible to provide a smooth frame-by-frame navigation backward.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5959
Re: Bug new version 2.7.1
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2018, 01:18:14 PM »
Remove existing .idx2 files for the used video filenames before loading the video if these exist!
Try with keyboard up/down arrow only and see if playing preview is running smoothly. Could be something going on with indexing?
« Last Edit: June 10, 2018, 01:20:39 PM by Jan Gruuthuse »

heru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Bug new version 2.7.1
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2018, 01:51:21 PM »
Hello !

No matter the settings, since when I'm under the old version of avidemux, no bug ..

Thanks anyway.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1956
Re: Bug new version 2.7.1
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2018, 10:11:38 PM »
I think I could reproduce the bug. It has nothing to do with deleting a sequence in a video. Starting playback, stopping it and moving back frame by frame a couple of times (or just once) suffices. After that, frames are output in wrong order. This is a regression from 2.7.0. Will look into the issue, thanks.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1956
Re: Bug new version 2.7.1
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2018, 10:22:41 PM »
I know now which particular optimization caused the bug, but not why. Will be fixed soon.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1956