Error: "Failed to connect to avsproxy. Is it running?"

Started by Mikey32, July 06, 2018, 12:26:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mikey32

Hi.

This is my first post here, so if I have missed something that should be obvious, please be kind :-)

I have some editing experience using virtualdub and Avidemux, which until now have produced quite acceptable results. However, having promised a friend I would transcribe a VHS tape of his sons first baby steps onto DVD, something I have done numerous times before. Unfortunately, from this particular tape I cannot produce a satisfactory copy that does not show traces of interlacing, ie 'comb' effect.

Despite trying all my usual tools I can't eliminate it, or reduce it to an acceptable level. The time pressure to complete this is on, since the DVD output will form part of the story that will played out at my friends sons wedding next Saturday, (the VHS tape is now 27 years old).

I see that QTGMC Interlace filter has a number of very positive recommendations, and I'd like to try this out.   

So, I see that this filter needs AviSynth to function from Avidemux. I have installed AviSynth, and if I open the 'version.avs' script (from the examples folder), in MS Media Player I see the appropriate video. I presume from this that Avisynth is installed correctly.

From what I have read I need to access AviSynth from Avidemux using the 'Connect to avsproxy' function. However when I select this I receive an error message to the effect that the attempt to open ::ADM_AVS_Proxy::failed, and on the following screen another message saying 'Failed to connect to avsproxy. Is it running ?'

The port used is the default of 9999.

There is no sign of process called avsproxy in Windows task manager, or anything showing in services.msc but then I don't know if there should be anyway.

I have searched for a solution, and tried a number of possible solutions including reinstalling the applications, the results are always the same.