Author Topic: Failed to build Avidemux  (Read 429 times)

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Failed to build Avidemux
« on: September 02, 2019, 02:27:52 AM »
Hi!

I tried to install a new Avidemux-version from Github using Jan Gruthuuse's instructions. In former days it always worked, at last on july, 28th, 2019.
But now I get the following error-message during the build-process:

Quote
.....
-- Packager=deb, valid choices= {deb,rpm,tgz,none}

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".
** Failed at cmakeZ**
Build failed, please inspect /tmp/log-bootstrap-2019-09-02_04:18:45.log and /tmp/logbuild* files.
Cancelling installation.
frank@ASUS-NOTEBOOK:~/avidemux2$

From Bootstrap-log:
Quote
-- CPP:Q_mainfilter.h;Q_seekablePreview.h -> ADM_filtersQT5_source=
-- CPP:Q_mainfilter.h;Q_seekablePreview.h -> ADM_filtersQT5_source=/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/ADM_userInterfacesQT5/ADM_filters/moc_Q_mainfilter.cpp;/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/ADM_userInterfacesQT5/ADM_filters/moc_Q_seekablePreview.cpp
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:213 (ADD_SUBDIRECTORY):
  The source directory

    /home/frank/avidemux2/avidemux/qt4/i18n

  does not contain a CMakeLists.txt file.



**************************
***  Optional Library  ***
***      Summary       ***
**************************
*** Video Encoder      ***
    NVENC          No
*** Miscellaneous      ***
    gettext        Yes
    SDL            No
    XVideo         Yes
    OpenGL         Yes
**************************
***   Release Build    ***
**************************

-- Packager=deb, valid choices= {deb,rpm,tgz,none}

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/frank/avidemux2/buildQt5/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".
** Failed at cmakeZ**

Can anyone give me a hint, what's the cause for it? In former days the build-process everytime worked fine.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2019, 02:36:14 AM by thursdaychild »

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3381
Re: Failed to build Avidemux
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2019, 03:23:24 AM »
You need to execute

Code: [Select]
git submodule update --init --recursive
in the avidemux2 folder once. When pulling later changes from git, please use

Code: [Select]
git pull --recurse

eumagga0x2a

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3381
Re: Failed to build Avidemux
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2019, 03:38:01 AM »
A brief explanation: translation files (the content of avidemux/qt4/i18n directory) have been moved to a separate git repository and are now pulled as a submodule into the main code tree. The rationale is to allow to package them independently from the application so that at some later point translations could be updated during lifetime of a release.

thursdaychild

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Failed to build Avidemux
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2019, 12:06:17 AM »
Okay, thanks. Everything worked while building now.