Since april 30 versions, problem to cut some MP4 in copy mode (corrupted output)

Started by me444, June 04, 2020, 12:16:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

me444

I'm not an expert in codecs and formats, so i try to explain my problem from a usage perspective as best as i can:

Until (including) nightly avidemux_r200415_win64Qt5_96.zip  april 15th, #96 all worked fine.
Since #97 from april 30th (avidemux_r200430_win64Qt5_97.zip) i encounted:

Attempt to cut some MP4 files in copy mode:
- Step forward to a keyframe > 0 ad set as start marker
- Step forward again and set an end marker
- Use "copy" for both video and audio portion and save the file
Result:
- The ADM builtin player does not play it (it does not find any contents resp. keyframe after position 0)
- Using MPC-HC Home cinema as player:
  Audio playback will start immediately. Video playback has a delay of a couple of seconds until it begins the playback.

Maybe the file(s) does not meet the ADM's format expectation, but, as told, before april 30th it did work perfectly.

Remark: i would like to avoid a re-encoding of the file which was not necessary before at all.

I'm able to provide a smal testcase (appraox. 16MB) together with small cut results from april 15th and the latest nightly from june 01  .... if i only knew where to store them.

eumagga0x2a

Quote from: me444 on June 04, 2020, 12:16:20 PM
Attempt to cut some MP4 files in copy mode:
- Step forward to a keyframe > 0 ad set as start marker
- Step forward again and set an end marker

What do you mean by "step" here? Usually it means a single frame. Or do you mean "seek to the next keyframe"?
Quote- Use "copy" for both video and audio portion and save the file
Result:
- The ADM builtin player does not play it (it does not find any contents resp. keyframe after position 0)
- Using MPC-HC Home cinema as player:
  Audio playback will start immediately. Video playback has a delay of a couple of seconds until it begins the playback.