News:

--

Main Menu

Video Ouput fps not following source.

Started by midasthegod, May 07, 2023, 10:38:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

midasthegod

I am currently editing a large mp4 file (2.4GB) and when I encode the video with HEVC and mp4 muxer (the same also happens with MPEG H.264 and probably others aswell), the output has only about 14fps. The source file is about 24fps. With the link below you can download a sample.mp4 (source) and a sample_edit.mp4 (output) file. Any idea why this is happening? I am new to avidemux so I might be missing some settings. What I have noticed is that when I playback the source file in avidemux after importing it, it's already choppy.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Files: https://drive.switch.ch/index.php/s/N8G8087eY8NJVqy

I'm using avidemux 2.8.1 on Windows x64.

eumagga0x2a

PTS in the source file are broken (in particular, they are set equal to DTS despite the video stream containing B-frames). Avidemux would check files with a H.264 video stream for broken PTS, but not when the video stream is HEVC.

It doesn't look like one can trigger PTS check in Avidemux for this file by other means than by enabling it generally for all HEVC videos in a future nightly build at line 795 of avidemux/common/ADM_editor/src/ADM_edit.cpp file.

midasthegod

Quote from: eumagga0x2a on May 08, 2023, 09:41:21 PMPTS in the source file are broken (in particular, they are set equal to DTS despite the video stream containing B-frames). Avidemux would check files with a H.264 video stream for broken PTS, but not when the video stream is HEVC.

It doesn't look like one can trigger PTS check in Avidemux for this file by other means than by enabling it generally for all HEVC videos in a future nightly build at line 795 of avidemux/common/ADM_editor/src/ADM_edit.cpp file.

First of all thanks for your fast response!

So there's no way I can fix this? Did I understand this correctly?

jimmy