Author Topic: Quicktime import  (Read 10250 times)

anse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Quicktime import
« on: November 11, 2006, 02:56:48 PM »
I am trying to open a Quicktime movie in Avidemux on Windows. It is a Quicktime DV-PAL -movie created with Avid Xpress Pro. Doesn\'t work.
Does avidemux support any kind of raw dv stream file or Quicktime Movie DV-PAL?

Anse

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Quicktime import
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 03:04:54 PM »
Might need a modification
Could you provide a small sample of the DV-quicktime file ?
A few frames would be enough

anse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Quicktime import
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2006, 07:12:52 PM »
Both files exported from Avid Xpress Pro:

DV-stream: http://epj.minner.no/avidemux/test-dv-stream-lower-field-first-pal.dv
Quicktime Movie (DV-PAL codec): http://epj.minner.no/avidemux/test-qt-movie-dv-pal-short.mov

Both PAL 4:3 720x576 Lower field first

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Quicktime import
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2006, 08:00:31 PM »
Fix coming

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Quicktime import
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2006, 08:03:08 PM »
Try that one (update to 2.3 preview 2)
http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/win32/r2562.zip

anse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Quicktime import
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2006, 06:28:40 PM »
Thanks for fast answer and fix.

The DV-stream file (.dv) does still not open.
The QT Mov (DV-PAL codec) file opens, but when playing it plays at about 1fps in Avidemux. Same happens when I export to for example AVI with X264/MP3 codecs from Avidmux.

Since it is difficult to see the \"stutter\" effect on the short file, please try this longer QT Movie DV-PAL file from Avid in Avidemux:

http://epj.minner.no/avidemux/avid-qt-movie-dv-pal-short-30sek.mov (27MB)

(QT Movie PAL-DV, 720x576, interlaced, bottom field first. Plays perfectly in QT Player.)

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Quicktime import
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2006, 07:01:47 PM »
I\'ve fixed the video, there is still a problem with audio
(only a bit of it is taken)
Working on it

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Quicktime import
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2006, 08:04:25 PM »
Try that one
http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/win32/r2569.zip

Works on linux/64, not tested on win32 but it should work

dmitry.matora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2012, 05:12:56 AM »
Just tried importing quicktime DV files and it didn't work.
Here is the file http://files.mail.ru/6ASMVV
Can you please, please, please fix it?

styrol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2012, 10:25:58 PM »
As a workaround you can use MPEG Streamclip (QuickTime installation needed) and save your MOV file as AVI (no re-encoding, just container format is altered).

Or use XMedia Recode: Select AVI in "Format" tab, select Copy in "Video" and "Audio" tab. Add these Settings as "Job" and press "Encode". (Again, no re-encoding, just container format is altered).

Avidemux can now decode your AVI video successfully (I tested it, here is the remuxed file). BTW, in MPEG Streamclip you can also edit (cut, trim) your video; with XMedia Recode only trimming is supported.

dmitry.matora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2012, 10:55:59 PM »
this is not avi, this is mov
what build does the job for you?

styrol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2012, 08:16:33 AM »
As I said your MOV file was saved to AVI by MPEG Streamclip without re-encoding. The AVI file can now be opened and decoded by Avidemux (tested with 2.5.4 and 2.6.)

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2012, 11:37:34 AM »
I'm away but the following patch helps a bit

dmitry.matora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2012, 06:45:01 AM »
I'm away but the following patch helps a bit

Thank you, I'll look or a couple of free days, to learn compiling it :)

mean

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Quicktime import
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2012, 06:58:44 AM »
Should be completely ok with r8266
You can get binaries here http://www.avidemux.org/nightly