Beginner Question: Documentation for mpeg2 (ff) settings?

Started by bbruecker, January 12, 2016, 11:10:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bbruecker

Hi,

I'm removing advertisments from dvb-t recordings. I would like to keep the quality of the source. So I tried to save the file in copy mode, I got a warning:

"The video is in copy mode but the cut points are not on keyframes.
The video will be saved but there will corruption at cut point(s).
Do you want to continue anyway ?"

From the wiki article http://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=using:b-frames and http://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=using:i-framesI have learned I should keep the order. So I think there are two options for me:

• I cut on key frames: this means I loose some pictures. Result is, the film "jumps" sometimes. I have to say, I don't like that.
  • I try Mpeg2 (ff) output.
I'm not an expert for the settings, and for a non-expert they are not self-explaining. Is there a documentation for the Mpeg2 (ff) settings? Or in other words: What settings would you recommend to me, to keep the source source quality?

Thx!

AQUAR

Maybe read this part of the WIKI.
http://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=using:main_window_-_qt_version

Make the cut's on Intra-Frames (AKA Key Frames) by using the navigation buttons for key frames (ones with >>).
Cutting out adverts, in Copy Mode, by starting and finishing on I frames, should be fine.
Don't know what you mean by jumps, but deleting adverts this way should not add artifacts.

If you recode with Mpeg2 you will loose some quality.

bbruecker

AQUAR, thank you for the replay,