Author Topic: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch  (Read 254 times)

isidroco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« on: June 22, 2018, 03:52:49 AM »
I need to extract audio using this command (in windows):
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe h:\VIDEOS\x.avi --save-raw-audio h:\VIDEOS\x.mp3
which (incorrectly) generates a 768 bytes file

Command works correctly if x.avi is located in Avidemux folder:
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe x.avi --save-raw-audio x.mp3

Final messages of wrong run are:

[A_saveAudioCopy] 03:27:59-046 duration 00:00:37,404
[saveAudio]Duration:1795.393536 ms
[saveAudio]Samples:1795393 ms
[A_saveAudioCommon] 03:27:59-062
 wanted 1795393 samples, goto 0 samples, written 1152 bytes
*
* Automation ended*
End of program..
*
[save] 03:27:59-109 Saving prefs to C:\Documents and Settings\z\Datos de programa\avidemux\confi
g3.tmp
[destroy] 03:27:59-109 Destroying preview
[deleteAll] 03:27:59-109 [Editor] Deleting all videos
[lavc] Destroyed
[close] 03:27:59-109 [Avi] Closing...
[~ADM_aviAudioAccess] 03:27:59-109 Deleting audio track from avi
[close] 03:27:59-109 [Avi] Closing...
[~ADM_edAudioTrackFromVideo] 03:27:59-109 Destroying edAudio from video track 0 at 1a205b8
[cleanup] 03:27:59-109 Deleting post proc
[deleteAll] 03:27:59-125 [Editor] Deleting all videos
Normal exit
[abortExitHandler] 03:27:59-125 already done, nothing to do


Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2018, 05:18:03 AM »
Due to command line restrictions, path I believe?
Think path and file needs to be quoted (string).
Code: [Select]
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe "h:\VIDEOS\x.avi" --save-raw-audio "h:\VIDEOS\x.mp3"

isidroco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2018, 12:55:49 AM »
After some experiments, this works:
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe --load x.avi --save-raw-audio h:\VIDEOS\16_VIDEOS_USA_2016\w\x.mp3

this doesn't:
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe --load c:\DVD\Aviemux\x.avi --save-raw-audio h:\VIDEOS\16_VIDEOS_USA_2016\w\x.mp3

* Quotes are only necessary if spaces are present on path/filename and in my example gives same result adding them or not.
* Please notice that x.avi is placed on Avidemux directory, if path is specified it stops working even in same place as before.
Couldn't make it work outside avidemux dir.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2018, 06:41:46 AM »
this doesn't:
c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe --load c:\DVD\Aviemux\x.avi --save-raw-audio h:\VIDEOS\16_VIDEOS_USA_2016\w\x.mp3
If this was copy/paste then it can't work: typo

- command path should include path to avidemux exe's, can be called from anywhere within windows.
- probably more issues going on, like user (windows) restrictions where you can write or not on your system drive, ...
« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 06:44:34 AM by Jan Gruuthuse »

isidroco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2018, 01:56:26 PM »
Jan, Thanks for your input. Unfortunately I misstyped here. Command when doesn't work generates a 768bytes empty mp3 instead of the correct +1mb file. It's not a permissions problem because file is generated, and I'm using win XP in a FAT32 partition with full access to all folders (FAT32 doesn't have permissions).
Will try in another win7 pc.

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2018, 04:13:36 PM »
OK try
- with GUI: replace avidemux_cli.exe with avidemux.exe perhaps more info will pop-up.
- in batch file place echo in front of instruction line perhaps something will show on command prompt?
Code: [Select]
echo c:\DVD\Avidemux\avidemux_cli.exe  --load x.avi --save-raw-audio x.mp3
fat32 has 2GB size limitation

isidroco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2018, 06:52:08 PM »
All my experiments are done out of batch. (Command line).
Can confirm that problem does NOT occur on win7 x32. Unfortunately I need this working on xp,  :(

System and avidemux drive is fat32, rest of units are ntfs. But as I said: imposible to be permission problem here.

Attached w7/xp log files from individual experiment, and my batch to extract audio from all videos on a folder which works on win7 and not on winxp due to avidemux bug.

PS: REM on line 111 must be removed

PS2: Annoyance, process is stopped to ask Y/N here (is there a way to skip and answer NO on these cases?):
* Question *
* This video contains B-frames, but presentation time stamps (PTS) are either missing or monotonically increasing. Avidemux can try to reconstruct correct PTS by decoding the entire video. This may take a lot of time. Proceed? *
**
Yes or No (Y/y or N/n) :

« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 07:17:19 PM by isidroco »

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2018, 04:49:47 AM »
PS2: Annoyance, process is stopped to ask Y/N here (is there a way to skip and answer NO on these cases?):
* Question *
* This video contains B-frames, but presentation time stamps (PTS) are either missing or monotonically increasing. Avidemux can try to reconstruct correct PTS by decoding the entire video. This may take a lot of time. Proceed? *
**
Yes or No (Y/y or N/n) :
Is this now because you're using the avidmux.exe GUI? Was only meant for for testing. Switch back to avidemux_cli.exe.

Otherwise redirection from a file. Like a reply: Yes or No or Enter

Jan Gruuthuse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2018, 05:33:56 AM »
- 32-bit is (maybe) no longer supported
- XP is EOL and no longer supported

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2123
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2018, 09:08:43 AM »
At the first glance, the problem seems to be located in the AVI (OpenDml) demuxer.

32 bit is supported, Windows XP is not (cannot even test), but Mean might have a VM somewhere and, more importantly, knowledge of its quirks and limitations. A sample would be nice anyway.

eumagga0x2a

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2123
Re: Can't use avidemux_cli command line or batch
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2018, 10:14:28 AM »
Maybe it is related to https://github.com/mean00/avidemux2/blob/master/avidemux_plugins/ADM_demuxers/OpenDml/ADM_odml_audio.cpp#L117 ("r" vs "rb" mode for fopen), maybe not. Difficult to tell with nothing but a smartphone.