Do you recommend AVIDEMUX for an absolute begginer?

Started by rmlazzari, September 09, 2019, 06:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rmlazzari

Hello, I would first like to apologize if this is not the right place for beginners. It's just that I migrated from Windows to Linux Mint recently, as directed by my granddaughter, so I'm looking for programs that allow me to do the same tasks now on Linux.

The task I am talking about here is recoding videos in various formats (.MKV, .MP4, .AVI, .M4V etc.) to .AVI in order to reduce file size and cut top and bottom black bands, sometimes reducing the original pixel size (my computer screen is 1366 x 768), sometimes changing the proportions from, say, 4: 3 to 19: 6 or better to avoid distortions like "fat" or "skinny" people . As I am far from an IT expert, I had a "cake recipe" for the old VirtualDub: accepting all default settings and always using the H264 encoder. For the sound of the videos I used Audacity, a program I already found works well on the new OS. And to put the two together I also keep using MKVToolNix-gui.

As my granddaughter said, it would be great to avoid emulators like Wine or VirtualBox. She told me that not only are Linux-specific programs replacing Windows programs, Linux programs are usually better.

If not bothering could you tell if AVIDEMUX would suit me? And if possible, could you give some tips or points where I could learn about your program, at least the basics for the tasks I'm used to?

As I said, although I worked for 40 years as COBOL programmer for large computers (IBM /370 and so on), my knowledge today is totally obsolete, I have little knowledge of this new computers.

Thank you in advance.

P.S.: Actually my configuration is Linux Mint 19.2 Tina 64 - Base Ubuntu 18.4 bionic - Cinnamon 4.2.4 - Kernel 4.15.0-60-generic - Intel Core i3-2328M CPU @ - 2.20GHz x 2 - Mem 3.7GiB - Monitor 1366x768.

eumagga0x2a