Is avidemux a frame accurate and lossless video cutter/splitter on Linux?

Started by adidasos, November 11, 2023, 06:55:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adidasos

Is avidemux a frame accurate and lossless video cutter/splitter on Linux? Thanks!

sark

Whether Windows, or Linux, the answer is no.

No program is truly able to be frame accurate and lossless. Even the often recommended Lossless Cut is not lossless and frame accurate by default, and its lossless frame accurate mode is described by its developers as experimental.

Simply put. You cannot discard frames that are referenced by remaining frames without issues, unless you reencode.

adidasos

I'll try to add some things, and perhaps explain better. But I am not a video expert, so I might not do the best job. As I understand it there are key-frames. I think this is what you are referencing. And these key-frames show up every so often throughout the video. When I cut/split a video I want it to cut in that exact spot that I choose. Why? Because if it doesn't, the cut doesn't come out looking very good, and I'm not happy with it. (frame accurate) I realize if you cut away from these key-frames that it has to make new ones or go to the nearest one by adding/subtracting frames from your cut.

I really don't care if a video splitter has to re-encode a file as long as it sounds and looks as good as the original. (lossless) Because I keep all the videos that I cut to watch and enjoy so I don't want their quality reduced. I often cut music videos to take out seizure warnings, or credits, or long boring intros with no music, for example. And if it ruins the quality of the music or the video then I don't want it.